SECTION .1100 - CONTINUING EDUCATION

21 NCAC 18B .1101 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS: LISTED QUALIFIED INDIVIDUALS

(a) Upon becoming a qualified individual, as defined in G.S. 87-41.1, all qualifiers shall complete a free, four-hour Laws and Rules Course conducted by Board staff within 12 months after becoming a qualified individual or 90 days prior to becoming a qualified individual. Completion of the Laws and Rules Course pursuant to this requirement, shall satisfy 4 of the required contact hours of continuing education for the initial renewal of the individual's qualification.

(b) Every listed qualified individual, as defined in G.S. 41.1(2), including listed qualified individuals pursuant to G.S. 87-50, shall complete continuing education prior to each annual license period to renew the license on which the qualified individual is currently listed, for the next annual license period, except as follows:

- (1) qualified individuals unable to fulfill the required number of hours as the result of illness as certified in writing by the attending physician; or
- (2) persons presenting approved courses of continuing education.

(c) The number of required contact hours for every listed qualified individual shall be determined by the classification of license on which the qualified individual is currently listed or is eligible to be listed as follows:

- (1) qualified individuals currently listed on a license in the limited, intermediate, unlimited and special restricted single family dwelling classifications shall complete at least eight hours of approved continuing education for license renewal, and
- (2) qualified individuals currently listed on a license in the special restricted fire alarm/low voltage (SP-FA/LV), special restricted elevator (SP-EL), special restricted plumbing and heating (SP-PH), special restricted ground water pump (SP-WP), special restricted electric sign (SP-ES) and special restricted swimming pool (SP-SP) classifications shall complete at least four hours of approved continuing education for license renewal.

(d) The Board, pursuant to Rules .1102 and .1103 of the Section, approves courses. Because of differences in the electrical contracting industry and individual needs of listed qualified individuals, each qualified individual must exercise judgment in selecting courses for which continuing education is claimed and in choosing only those courses that will advance the individual's knowledge.

(e) Course sponsors may be colleges or universities, community colleges, trade associations, providers of self-study programs, employers, third party professional examination companies, private instructors and the like.

(f) North Carolina listed qualified individuals residing within the state must obtain the required continuing education hours by taking a course provided by an approved sponsor.

(g) North Carolina listed qualified individuals residing outside of North Carolina, including listed qualified individuals pursuant to G.S. 87-50, may obtain credit for courses offered in North Carolina. They may also obtain credit for courses offered in their state, province or country of residence provided the Board subsequently approves the courses taken, pursuant to Rule .1102(b) of this Section.

(h) Effective for renewals on or after July 1, 2008, all persons seeking to renew qualification must demonstrate that a minimum of one-half the continuing education hours for each annual license period were obtained by in-person classroom or seminar attendance.

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-41.1; 87-42; 87-44.1; Eff. October 1, 1990; Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; January 1, 2006; March 1, 1999; Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; Amended Eff. January 1, 2025;